No. Damn. Good.

From the Fitted Hat Files

Noah Sidel
2 min readMay 20, 2021

The Deeg. It’s right next to downtown, but isn’t quite there. It can feel like a suburb, but it’s not really that either.

It was “No Damn Good” when I was a kid. Today it’s more like “not really affordable” anymore, but you can find your spot if you’re willing to put in a little work.

I’ve lived in NDG for probably 34 of my 40-and-counting years on this planet and if I have my way, I’ll never leave. My wife is an NDG convert who grew up in the real ‘burbs. She’s hooked on our community now too.

Living in NDG means our kids probably won’t drive until they’re over 20 (I didn’t get my license until I was 23) and they’ll always be a quick walk to a dépanneur or a café.

Need to get somewhere? Try the 51, 102, 104, 162, or the big boss of them all: The 105. We have 2 metro stations and a couple more right near by. It’s public transit heaven and that’s a big part of what makes us who we are. You can take the commuter train from my corner directly to the Bell Centre for a Habs game.

This hat is maroon & gold as a tribute to my alma mater and NDG’s very own institution of higher learning: Concordia University… Go Stingers!

I sold about 40 of them and was able to donate $500 to the NDG Food Depot as a result. I love being able to give back to our amazing community and get a sweet lid out of it.

For those asking, the next project will be for the Westhaven Community Centre. Probably this same hat in a different colourway… tbd.

Thank you to everyone who supported this project!

--

--